Dalhousie University Libraries have a good collection of newspapers, as well as links to online databases and other resources. Most current newspapers are available via online searchable databases. Historical papers are in microfilm collections or individual newspaper databases. Browse through this guide to find out how to access these resources.
The Killam Library receives one paper in print, the Chronicle Herald (Halifax). The Chronicle Herald online archives is available from the Eureka database, commencing in 1999. The microfilm backfile collection is held at the Halifax Public Library, Spring Garden Road and the Nova Scotia Archives Office, University Avenue.
The Killam Memorial Library retains online and microfilm backfiles of: the Globe and Mail (Toronto), Le Devoir, Gazette (Montreal), New York Times (NYC, NY, USA) and The Times (London, England) covering various dates. Other titles we hold have been selected to support the teaching and research programs of the university.
Finding newspapers and newspaper articles
If you know the specific newspaper you would like to find, you can search for it in the search bar above in the Novanet Catalogue. Enter the title in the search box at the top of the page.
Searching tips
To the right of the search bar, select “Advanced Search” and select “title” from the Field dropdown menu.
In the left-hand column, “Refine your results”, under “Resource Type”, select “Show more”. From there, you can select “Newspapers" when searching for newspapers, or "Newspaper Articles" when searching for articles.
Online Newspapers is a directory for thousands of newspapers around the world. Newspapers are searchable by geographic location, and users have the option of searching in English, German, French, Italian, Spanish, or Portuguese.
