LibGuides: Planning Research Guide: Find Articles & More

Interesting Journal Article of the Month

Human congestion in new designed public spaces: researching its social interactional potential
This paper examines an emerging optimal condition for informal public social interaction, which has not yet been fully accepted or theorized in sociology and urban design. The condition in question is human congestion and is the target of current sociological and urban design critiques. This paper employs empirical material from a case study which illustrates and problematises this condition and its critiques. It uses Goffman’s “Interaction Order” as a theoretical and methodological framework, combining observational, interviewing, non-verbal communication, and spatial analysis methods, to examine the social interactional potential of a range of new public spaces designed with congestion in mind. In doing so, it problematises the critiques of human congestion demonstrating that informal public social interaction under such condition occurs more than it is necessary and that the spaces where it occurs can become valuable social spaces for a wide range of users.
more...less...
Simoes Aelbrecht, Patricia. “Human Congestion in New Designed Public Spaces: Researching Its Social Interactional Potential.” Journal of Urbanism: International Research on Placemaking and Urban Sustainability, December 3, 2023, 1–31. https://doi.org/10.1080/17549175.2023.2284847.

Primary Databases for Planning

Scopus: Scopus is one of the largest abstract and citation databases of peer-reviewed literature. It includes smart tools to track, analyze, and to visualize research.

The Scopus Library Guide, from Elsevier: For tips using Scopus

Muniscope: Login: sexton.library@dal.ca ; Password: dalLibrary

Canada’s national resource on municipal issues, sponsored by the Provincial-Territorial Officials Committee on Local Government (PTOC). Muniscope is an excellent source for information to support local government policies, practices and service delivery. Formats of information include:

Sociological Abstracts: Provides access to the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines, both theoretical and applied.

JSTOR: Dalhousie subscribes to JSTOR's Arts and Sciences I-VII, Business, Ecology and Botany, Language and Literature, and Life Sciences collections.

SAGE Journals Online: Browse or search through a collection of journals from Sage.

TRID (Transport Research International Documentation) Database: TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than one million records of transportation research worldwide.

ROSA P: The National Transportation Library's Repository and Open Science Access Portal. The name ROSA P was chosen to honor the role public transportation played in the civil rights movement, along with one of the important figures, Rosa Parks.

Founded as an all-digital library program, NTL’s collections in ROSA P are full-text digital publications, datasets, and other resources. Legacy print materials that have been digitized are collected if they have historic, technical, or national significance.

PATH Database: Indexes books, articles, and reports on intelligent transportation systems.

DalTRAC: The Dalhousie Transportation Collaboratory: A multi-disciplinary research facility dedicated to the advancement of transportation engineering/planning research and practice at Dalhousie University. The unit aims to contribute to transportation studies, planning, and analysis at local, regional and national levels.

PAIS Index: Indexes articles, books, documents, reports, and statistical compilations about public policy, social policy and international development.

Research Library: A general, multidisciplinary database with full-text included for many citations.

Wiley Online Library: Dalhousie subscribes to most Wiley journals but only selected books. Look for the "unlocked" icon which signals access.

Project Muse: Search across all Project Muse titles for citations and articles of interest. Full-text of articles is available to only Dalhousie users.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: The most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses available. It is the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research.

Historical Databases

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
*Key database for History* Indexes & abstracts articles in 2000+ international journals, books & dissertations on the history of Canada & the United States from pre-historic times to the present.Coverage includes selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities. Over 90% of the articles included are published in English-language journals.Published since 1964, the database comprises almost 400,000 bibliographic entries.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
*Key database for History* Indexes and abstracts articles in 2000+ journals, plus books and dissertations on the history of all parts of the world from 1450 to the present.
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine This link opens in a new window
By integrating four bibliographies—the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology, the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine—this resource offers outstanding value for interdisciplinary research.
Our license specifies that only 5 users may use it at a time. If you are unable to gain access, the license user limit may have been exceeded, please wait a few minutes and try connecting again.
Bibliography of British and Irish history This link opens in a new window
A partnership between the Institute of Historical Research, the Royal Historical Society and Brepols Publishers. The Bibliography of British and Irish History provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present. It is the successor to the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History, available online from 2002 to 2009. The Bibliography is a guide to the work of historians - it does not contain original sources, unless they have been edited and republished by historians (except for a selection of key sources published before 1901). The Bibliography aims to be as comprehensive as is practical for publications since 1900.
International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, notes, and similar literature on medieval subjects in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays. Covers all aspects of medieval studies within the date range of 400 to 1500 for the entire continent of Europe, the Middle East and North Africa for the period before the Muslim conquest and parts of those areas subsequently controlled by Christian powers. Includes more than 300,000 articles published 1967- , all of which are fully classified by date, subject and location.

Science & Technology Databases

Compendex: Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts articles, conference proceedings, technical reports, and books in all engineering disciplines.Coverage includes backfiles from 1884-Present.

* Help with Compendex: Engineering Village
----------
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is one of the largest abstract and citation databases of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.

Help with Scopus.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.

Help with Environment Complete.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Covers the world's literature in geology and the geosciences.

Help with GeoRef.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals covering many subjects in the applied and social sciences, including geography, planning and development studies.

Help with ScienceDirect.
Agriculture Science Database This link opens in a new window
This database includes the renowned AGRICOLA, ESPM, and EIS databases and provides full-text titles from around the world.

Help with Agricultural & Environmental Science Database.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
National Environmental Publications (Internet Site) This link opens in a new window
Index and full text site for over 7,000 U.S. EPA books, reports and documents.