Skip to main content

Architecture

A Guide to Architecture

Current Awareness

The Engineering, Architecture, and Planning fields are in a constant state of evolution, with the introduction of new technologies, processes, and ideas. It can be difficult to stay up to date on all new developments, but there are some handy tools that can help.
This guide contains the tools you need to stay up to date with the above disciplines, as well as the Sexton Library, and greater Dalhousie community.

Table of Contents (TOC)

Table of Contents (TOC) alerts allow a user to stay up-to-date on the status of online journals. When a new volume or issue of a journal is added, an alert with the table of contents will be sent to the user's email.

Library Subscribed Auto-Alerts

Many databases that Dalhousie subscribes to allows a user to sign up for a free personal account. These accounts give you tools that allow you to set up search alerts, saved searches, saved citations, etc.  It's an easy way to stay up-to-date with the latest publications in your discipline.

To access the below databases, click the links, or go to the Dalhousie Libraries main page (http://libraries.dal.ca/ ), and search for them under 'Databases' in the drop-down menu.

Publisher TOC Alerts

Many independent academic publishers offer online TOC alerts for new volumes of journals that they publish. This is a partial list of the wide spectrum of publishers out there!

Journal Metrics

Journal metrics are tools that allow researchers to gauge the impact factor of different publications in any given field. The key indicator of journal impact is the number of citations that the articles in a journal receive. Network and information analysis are also a key aspect. Below are sources that are useful for researchers to evaluate the impact of academic journals.

Key Terms

RSS

Rich Site Summary or Real Simple Syndication (RSS) is a web feed tool that allows users to syndicate data automatically.


Saved Search

Some databases allow users to save searches they have carried out. This tool will also return any new items which fall under said search.


Search Alert

Search Alerts are similar to saved searches. Whenever a new item is added to the database that falls under a saved Search Alert, an email is sent to the user.


Search History

A search history is a list of all the searches a patron has carried out in a database.


Table of Content (TOC) Alert

Table of Content (TOC) Alerts are similar to search alerts, except they are for specific publications on certain databases. By setting up a TOC Alert, a user can keep up to date on new articles and issues from any chosen journal.

Web of Science: Citation Alerts Tutorial

Click here to learn how to subscribe to Citation Alerts!

Web of Science: Email Alerts

Learn how to subscribe to email alerts!