Skip to main content

Architecture

A Guide to Architecture

What are Journals?

A journal is a periodical publication that contains scholarly information in a subject area.  Scholarly or academic journals are collections of journal articles written by professors, researchers, or experts in a given field. 

Journals are one type of serial, which is any publication published in parts (usually in regular intervals).  Other types of serials are magazines and trade publications.  Articles that undergo a review process by other experts before publication are known as peer-reviewed.

Some important architecture journals are:

  • A + U: Architecture and Urbanism
  • The Journal of Architecture
  • Journal of Architectural Engineering
  • The Journal of Housing and the Built Environment

Journals are available in print at the Sexton Library or in electronic format through one of Dalhousie's research databases

Novanet is a good place to start if you know the title of the journal you are looking for. If you are simply looking for a journal article on a particular topic, try searching in a research database like Avery.  

Note: All of Dalhousie's journal holdings are listed in Novanet and can be found by using the Advanced Search option and limiting Resource Type to Journals

Electronic Journals

The Dalhousie Libraries provide access to over 140 electronic architecture journals.  These journals are available through databases like Avery and JStor. 

Click here to search Novanet for electronic planning journals. Click here to search Novanet for electronic architecture journals. Or go to the databases tab on this Subject Guide to see a list of databases to search for journal articles.

Journals in Print

Many of the most important architecture journals are only available in print.  This means that you will have to come to the Sexton Library to read or photocopy articles you are interested in, or complete a Novanet Express photocopy request.  

You can still use many of the journal databases to find citations for journal articles that are only available in print.  For example, to find full-text articles from the journal Abitare (not peer-reviewed), try the following steps:

  1. Open the Avery Index and go to the 'Advanced Search' screen.
  2. Type the journal title in the first search box and select Journal Name, JN=
  3. Enter your keywords (e.g. concert hall) in the second search box and select Keywords, KW=
  4. You should now have a list of journal articles about concert halls from the journal Abitare.
  5. Record the journal title, year, volume and/or issue number and page numbers and drop into the Sexton Library to get the article.