Skip to main content

Medical Humanities

A Guide to Medical Humanities

Subject Selector

Joseph Wickens
Contact:
jwickens@dal.ca
Twitter: https://twitter.com/dallibraries
(902) 494-2927

Library News

Loading

Books recently added to the Kellogg Library's Collection

Loading

IMage

Introduction

Here are listed resources for study in the field of medical humanities. The coverage here includes art and literature in medicine, as well as the history of medicine and bioethics.

 

For information on the Medical Humanities-HEALS programme of the Faculty of Medicine, Dalhousie University, please visit the Medical Humanities website.

 

Featured Websites and News Items

"The Medical Heritage Library is a "digital curation collaborative" between numerous leading medical libraries, including the August C. Long Health Science Library at Columbia University, the College of Physicians of Philadelphia, and the Wellcome Library, to name just a few. These libraries are working together on this remarkable collection that provides insight into the history of medicine in the United States and Great Britain. Through the website's Content tab, visitors can browse hundreds of medical journals, pamphlets, and books dating back to the sixteenth century. Researchers can also conduct a keyword Search in order to find relevant material within this extensive (and still growing) collection. Educators or the more casually interested visitors may want to simply start with the homepage, which highlights a variety of material from this collection as well as current exhibits and projects at participating libraries. For example, in the most recent blog post (as of this writing), readers can hear from Hanna Clutterbuck-Cook as she discusses seventeenth century blood transfusions."

http://www.medicalheritage.org/

Kellogg Medical Humanities Collection

Loading