LibGuides: English Literature: Book reviews

Search tips

Gather bibliographic information (title, author's name, date of original publication) for the book you are researching.
When searching for reviews, narrow the date range to the years immediately following the book's publication.
Some online databases will allow you to limit your search to reviews or criticism, so always check the advanced search options.

TLS: the Times Literary Supplement Index, 1902-
online via Factiva from 2010 to date
Also available at Killam Library: AP 4 T58 (Microfilm) 1903-1916,1923-1964
and AP 4 T58

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Dalhousie subscribes to JSTOR's Arts and Sciences I-VII, Business, Ecology and Botany, Language and Literature, and Life Sciences collections. These databases cover hundreds of journal title backfiles from 41 academic disciplines. It is a unique digital archive of journals, starting with the very first issues. The collection covers material from the 1800s up to a 'moving wall' of between zero and 8 years before current publication.

New York Times Book Review
Also available on Microfilm from 1858 Killam AN 2 N4
H-Net: Humanities & Social Sciences Online
H-Net is an international interdisciplinary organization of scholars and teachers dedicated to developing the enormous educational potential of the Internet and the World Wide Web.

CBCA complete This link opens in a new window
Canadian current events database with coverage from newspapers and scholarly sources.

Book Review Index
Call Number: Z 1035 A1 B72 (Killam Library)
Tips:This is a series of print publications found on the first floor of the Killam Library. The URL will take you to the catalogue record. Each volume contains a list of book reviews published that year. To read the reviews themselves, you will have to find the journal, magazine, or newspaper that published the review.

Book Review Digest Retrospective This link opens in a new window
For older book reviews only! Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1905-1982 provides selected excerpts from book reviews, as well as citations to additional reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction.

Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-81 and 3 supplements to 1896
Killam REF AI 3 .P7 INDEX 6 v. in 7
Canadian Book Review Annual
1975 - 2006
Killam REF Z 1375 C3 INDEX
Canadian Periodical Index, 1928 - 1998
1928-1998
Killam REF AI 3 C21 INDEX
Index to Book Reviews in the Humanities, 1960-1990
1960-1990
Killam REF Z 1219 I38 INDEX
New York Review of Books
AP 2 N655 Microfiche 1963-1975
AP 2 N655 Microfilm 1976 - [to date]
Nineteenth Century Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature, 1890-1899
1900-1922
Killam REF AI 3 R20 INDEX